Skip to content

Trinity River Treasure

April 1, 2013

1213120005 1213120009 1218121147_01 1218121148_01 1226120024Trinity River Treasure

What should I be named? How old am I?

I opened my WordPress acct to help with my commenting. The only post I ever made on another website had to do with this ‘rock’ that I found in Jan 2012. The above pictures do not correspond to the number comments in my post, here is what I wrote…I found this in the early part of this year, while prospecting. The shape caught my eye as it sat on a gravel bar with hundreds of thousands of other rocks. At first I was thinking a type of geode or something similar, but after studying the characteristics of this shape, I came to believe that this is a complete creature that was trapped, perhaps in a rock slide, and then fossilized. So, I thought that this would be a good place to show this, as I know that some of you probably have skills along this line. 12/18…In picture #8 you can see the best example yet of what the surface texture looks like. I lightly moistened the surface and using morning sunlight I was able to highlight a section of the tiny peaks of the bumps from the reflection of the light through the water coating the texture. I should have mentioned this from the start, but all sides of the main body had this texture. I lightly polished the left side and the bottom. Otherwise this piece was not water worn. It must have been blasted out of the ocean-deposited sediment layers that make up much of the soil mass in the area. That would have happened either in the late 1800s, or in the 1920s/30s mining era. It had been kicked up onto a high bar in the river system, where only flood years would touch it. This would suggest that it didn’t travel too far from where it had been deposited. Actually, there is a 1,000 yd long cut in a red cliff face right across from where I live that is a mile upstream from where I found this. Locals have told me that the cliff yielded fossils, but it could come from several sources in that they really changed this landscape back in the 1800s. Entire ridges were blasted away to nothing in their search for gold. Pictures taken at the time show a completely devastated landscape. Almost no tree or bush left to be seen for miles up and down the Trinity river. For best viewing put the pics on your desktop.

From → Uncategorized

12 Comments
  1. Goldminer,
    Pull any gold off that rock? Saw your comments at WUWT.

    • This ‘rock’ may be a different kind of ‘gold’. After looking this piece over, I can not help but feel that this is an entire fossilized body. The closest description seemed that this could be an authigenic object. I should rewrite the page to better describe the piece.

  2. Very cool. And slightly creepy.

    [I also came here via WUWT.]

    • Hey Smokey, I don’t get many visitors around these parts. Welcome!

      I should reorganize that page so it reads a bit better. The rock is an interesting piece. The best description that I could find of how it might have been formed is by a process called authigenic fossilization. I never had any satisfactory comments from others that would explain how this piece acquired it,s shape, without being weatherized.

      It would also make a beautiful crystal carving. That surface will take a high polish, as it is fairly hard.

  3. Hey there, I think your website might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your blog in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet
    Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted
    to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, very good blog!

    • I do have some issues with my computer. I was never shown how to properly set up XP Pro. That may have something to do with that. The only reason that I got the computer was that my son had told me that the best games were all pc. Then I ‘discovered’ the wonders of the internet and re-awakened the student within me. I have done quite a bit of reading since then.

  4. I assume the location is near the Trinity River Alps in the Klamath Mountain Province of northern California.

    I’m not a mineral expert, but this specimen looks like metamorphic rock. I base this on the blue veins. Possibly the rock has been subject to metasomatic / hydrothermal processes. As a guess, maybe this is serpentized periodite.

    http://pubs.usgs.gov/bul/1290/report.pdf

    If this is correct, or even nearly correct, it would be improbable that the rock ever contained a fossilized organism.

    • Thanks for the reply. I have been wondering about this for some years. What has always puzzled me is how did it get this shape? Was this maybe a gas bubble in rock that then filled in with minerals?

      • The coastal area of California has two geological plates that are colliding. The collision has produced a lot of metamorphic and igneous rock formations because of the great pressure and heat.

        In the Klamath province where your rock came from there are areas of Paleozoic rocks that may have been metamorphosed and jumbled up with granite and volcanic rocks, themselves metamorphosed.

        I live on an 300 square kilometer island off the west coast of Malaysia some distance east of an oceanic plate that is undergoing subduction under a continental plate.

        About 400 million years ago two bubbles of granite were released about 10 km below the surface, one deeper and hotter than the other. These bubbles rose to the surface millions of years ago and now the highest peak stands almost 900 meters above sea level, the rest being eroded into valleys and cut into terraces at various elevations.

        Terraces made by wave action can be roughly correlated to the last four interglacial periods. You can actually see steps where the sea once carved platforms in the granite. Interglacial MIS-11 occurred about 400,000 years ago and lasted about 50,000 years. That big step is distinctive, a 20-meter step, but the Huon Peninsula in Papua New Guinea has more spectacular terraces.

        I was puzzled trying to locate the last interglacial (Eemian) because the level of the sea was thought to be only 3 meters higher than now. The only terrace I could find was 9 meters or so higher. But last year the peak seal level during the Eemian was revised to 9 meters higher than now. Not quite a perfect match because our island rose another 2 meters since then and so I would expect to find the terrace at 11 meters.

        I did discover that during the hypsithermal (Holocene Climate Optimum, 5000 to 6000 years ago) sea level was between 2 and 3 meters higher than now. Roads on both east and west sides of the island run along the level of the former beach lines. This shows that global temperature was a lot higher 5000 to 6000 years ago.

    • I live on the southern edge of the Trinity Alps.

      • Yes, I saw the images online. A really beautiful landscape.

      • I was born in San Francisco, but I fell in love with the mountains and forests of the coastal range. I spent much of the 1970s living on the Klamath River. I also like to do gold dredging in the Sierra’s, but the climate nazis have had that shut down for the last 7 years. I have found some fossils and interesting rocks while dredging and prospecting. I enjoy that as much as I do finding gold.

Leave a Reply

